Home > Uncategorized > Help Michele Bender raise funds for the Foundation!

Help Michele Bender raise funds for the Foundation!

December 6, 2012

Recently, runner Michele Bender contacted us to ask if she could help us raise funds through a race. In Michele’s own words, here’s why:

“On January 27, 2013, I’m running in the Manhattan Half Marathon in honor of the One Step Ahead Foundation. This is an amazing not-for-profit that helps children who have lost limbs by giving them the means to participate in various athletics by providing them with prosthetic limbs so they can do things like run, climb, ski and more for the first time! Many of these children don’t think these activities are possible for them until they are given a prosthetic limb from this wonderful organization. Not only is it fun for them to finally run, climb, etc., but it teaches these kids that they are not defined by their disabilities and completely changes how they see themselves. One Step Ahead was founded by an amazing woman who lost her leg below the knee and STILL has gone on to set records in marathons, triathlons and ultra-marathons!!  Ever since I heard about One Step Ahead, I knew I wanted to help these children and I thought running around Central Park more than twice in freezing January temps was a good way to start. I hope you’ll support my half marathon by donating to this great cause. I really appreciate it and know they will, too!!”

To make a donation in Michele’s name, click here:

Categories: Uncategorized
